Website Accessiblity

Alexander Henderson Award

Previous winners of the Henderson Award since its inception (listed with their current positions):

1954 - John F. Muth, Indiana University*
1955 - Albert K. Ando, University of Pennsylvania*
1956 - Kalman J. Cohen, Duke University (emeritus)
1957 - David Chambers, London Business School (emeritus)
1958 - Clarence J. Huizenga
1959 - Andrew C. Stedry
1960 - Andrew B. Whinston, University of Texas at Austin
1961 - Frederick S. Hammer, Inter-Atlantic Group
1962 - Oliver E. Williamson, University of California at Berkeley
             [2009 Nobel Prize in Economics]
1963 - Ferdinand K. Levy, Georgia Tech (emeritus)
1964 - Bertil Naslund, Stockholm School of Economics (emeritus)
1965 - Dale T. Mortensen, Northwestern University
             [2010 Nobel Prize in Economics]*
1966 - Richard Schramm
1967 - Edward C. Prescott, Arizona State University
             [2004 Nobel Prize in Economics]
1968 - Jan Mossin, Norwegian School of Economics & Business Administration*
1969 - Charles W. Upton, Kent State University
1970 - Michel Truchon, Université Laval
1971 - Marcel Boyer, Université de Montréal
1972 - George F. Brown, Jr., Blue Canyon Partners
1973 - Finn E. Kydland, University of California at Santa Barbara and Carnegie Mellon University
             [2004 Nobel Prize in Economics]
1974 - Constantine C. Azariadis, Washington University in Saint Louis
1975 - Robert E. Forsythe, University of South Florida
1976 - Marie-Therese Flaherty, Wharton Small Business Development Center
1977 - Charles A. Holt. Jr., University of Virginia
1978 - Edward J. Green, Pennsylvania State University
1980 - Ronald A. Dye, Northwestern University
1981 - Varadarajan V. Chari, University of Minnesota
1983 - Ravi K. Jagannathan, Northwestern University
1984 - Sumru G. Altug, Koç University
1985 - Daniel E. Ingberman, University of California at Berkeley
1986 - Daniel Mark Bernhardt, University of Illinois
1987 - Kim G. Balls, DFA Capital Management
1988 - David A. Marshall, Chicago Federal Reserve
1990 - Madhav Rajan, Stanford University
1991 - Wouter den Haan, University of Amsterdam
1993 - Suleyman Basak, London Business School
1994 - Patrick William Sileo, Carnegie Mellon University
1997 - Jamsheed Shorish, Institute for Advanced Studies, Vienna
1998 - Mico Mrkaic, International Monetary Fund
1999 - Vivek Ramachandran, Maracon Associates
2000 - Ulf Axelson, London School of Economics
2001 - M. Fatih Guvenen, University of Minnesota
2002 - Aydogan Alti, University of Texas at Austin
2004 - Sean Crockett, Baruch College
2005 - Espen Henriksen, University of Oslo
2006 - Roman Sustek, Bank of England
2007 - Francisco Palomino, University of Michigan
2008 - Jeremy Bertomeu, Northwestern University
2009 - James Richard Lowery, University of Texas at Austin
2010 - Edwige Cheynel, Columbia University
2011 - Özgün Ekici, Ozyegin University
2012 - Federico Gavazzoni, INSEAD
2013 - Artem Neklyudov, HEC, Université de Lausanne
2014 - Batchimeg Sambalaibat


Prof. William W. Cooper on Alexander Henderson
Sandy Henderson was a British economist who joined the faculty at the Tepper School of Business at an early date. A person of wide interests and lively wit he livened up the place considerably especially in the (then) frequent seminars which were generally attended by all faculty and students. His original reputation in economics rested on work he had done in consumer behavior in "welfare economics." At the Tepper school, however, he joined a project (which I directed) on Intra-Firm Behavior which was sponsored by the U.S. Air Force "Project Scoop"--Scientific Computation of Optimum Programs--as part of a program in developing new computerized approaches to management. In this context Sandy's interest switched to "Inter-Industry Economics" (as it was called by the Government) or "Input-Output Analysis" as it was called by everybody else. In fact, Sandy had a manuscript in preparation for an introductory book on this topic when he died. Subsequently Sandy switched from "input-output analysis" to "linear programming" and in the course of working on this topic he co-authored a book on that topic with A. Charnes (a member of Carnegie Mellon's Math Department) and me. This book was published in paperback form by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., in 1953, under the title An Introduction to Linear Programming. It consisted of two parts as follows: Part I: An Economic Introduction to Linear Programming by W.W. Cooper and A. Henderson; and Part II: Lectures on the Mathematical Theory of Linear Programming by A. Charnes. This was the first text on the topic and with sales of some 40,000 copies it helped greatly in the spread (and use) of linear (mathematical) programming. As a condition of publication for this book, the three of us (Charnes, Henderson and I) agreed that we would subsequently expand this small paperback book into a hard cover version. This led to the two volume monograph, by A. Charnes and me, entitled Management Models and Industrial Applications of Linear Programming (Wiley, 1961), a book that would have benefited greatly from Sandy's participation. His untimely death (in his early 40s) precluded this possibility. His death was a loss to the world as well as to the Tepper School.

Footer Navigation