Economics

Economics examines the behavior of markets, economies and their specific components. Research and study at the Tepper School includes macroeconomic theory, banking and financial markets, fiscal and monetary policy, public finance, corporate governance, business cycles, labor market dynamics, microeconomic theory, contract theory and commerce.

  • A

    • Laurence Ales

      Ales, Laurence

      Associate Professor of Economics

      Email: ales@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-7058

    • Katharine Anderson

      Anderson, Katharine A.

      Assistant Professor of Economics and Entrepreneurship

      Email: andersok@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-6143

    • Jerome Apt

      Apt, Jerome

      Professor and Co-Director of Carnegie Mellon Electricity Industry Center

      Email: japt@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-3003

    B

    • Serra Boranbay-Akan

      Boranbay-Akan, Serra

      Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics

      Email: serra@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-8685

    C

    • Stephen Calabrese

      Calabrese, Stephen

      Visiting Associate Professor of Economics, Carnegie Mellon - Qatar

      Email: sc45@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-3703

    • Karen Clay

      Clay, Karen

      Associate Professor of Economics and Public Policy, Heinz College, and by Courtesy, Tepper School of Business

      Email: kclay@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-4197

    D

    E

    • Dennis Epple

      Epple, Dennis

      Thomas Lord University Professor of Economics

      Email: epple@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-1536

    F

    • Christina Fong

      Fong, Christina

      Research Scientist, Department of Social and Decision Sciences, Dietrich College

      Email: fong2@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-8168

    G

    • Martin Gaynor

      Gaynor, Martin

      E.J. Barone Professor of Economics and Health Policy, Heinz College, and by Courtesy, Tepper School of Business

      Email: mgaynor@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-7933

    • Carol Goldburg

      Goldburg, Carol

      Executive Director, Undergraduate Economics Program; Adjunct Professor of Economics

      Email: cg28@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-7187

    • Marvin Goodfriend

      Goodfriend, Marvin Seth

      The Friends of Allan H. Meltzer Professor; Professor of Economics

      Email: marvingd@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-8459

    • Joachim Ryohei Groeger

      Groeger, Joachim Ryohei

      Assistant Professor of Economics

      Email: jgroeger@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-6564

    H

    • Isa Hafalir

      Hafalir, Isa E.

      Associate Professor of Economics

      Email: isaemin@cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-5456

    I

    K

    • Karam Kang

      Kang, Karam

      Assistant Professor of Economics; BP Junior Faculty Chair AY 2015-2016

      Email: kangk@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-5033

    • Onur Kesten

      Kesten, Onur

      Associate Professor of Economics

      Email: okesten@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-9823

    • Yaroslav Kryukov

      Kryukov, Yaroslav

      Assistant Professor of Economics

      Email: kryukov@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-9455

    • Alexey Kushnir

      Kushnir, Alexey

      Assistant Professor of Economics

      Email: akushnir@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-6079

    • Finn Kydland

      Kydland, Finn E.

      The Richard P. Simmons Distinguished Professorship; University Professor of Economics, Nobel Laureate (2004)

      Email: kydland@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-3691

    L

    M

    • Bennett McCallum

      McCallum, Bennett T.

      H. J. Heinz Professor of Economics

      Email: bm05@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-2347

    • Allan Meltzer

      Meltzer, Allan H.

      The Allan H. Meltzer University Professor of Political Economy

      Email: am05@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-2282

    • Robert Miller

      Miller, Robert A.

      Richard M. Cyert and Morris DeGroot Professor of Economics and Statistics; Professor of Economics and Strategy

      Email: ramiller@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-3701

    O

    • John O'Brien

      O'Brien, John R.

      Associate Professor of Accounting and Experimental Economics

      Email: jo0x@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 974-445-4853 1

    R

    S

    • Marvin Sirbu

      Sirbu, Marvin

      Professor of Engineering and Public Policy; Electrical and Computer Engineering and Joint Appointment at Tepper School of Business

      Email: sirbu@cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-3436

    • Christopher Sleet

      Sleet, Christopher

      Professor of Economics; Head of Economics

      Email: csleet@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-9938

    • Fallaw Sowell

      Sowell, Fallaw

      Associate Professor of Economics

      Email: fs0v@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-3769

    • Stephen Spear

      Spear, Stephen E.

      Professor of Economics

      Email: ss1f@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-8831

    T

    • Christopher Telmer

      Telmer, Christopher I.

      Associate Professor of Financial Economics

      Email: telmerc@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-8838

    W

    Y

    Z

    • Ariel Zetlin-Jones

      Zetlin-Jones, Ariel

      Assistant Professor of Economics

      Email: azj@andrew.cmu.edu

      Phone: 412-268-9743