17th Annual Carnegie Mellon Accounting Mini Conference

The mini-conference will be held August 19-20, 2016 at the Tepper School of Business.


 FRIDAY, AUGUST 19, 2016
11:45 am - 12:45 pm Welcome Burrito Luncheon - Room 388/Grand Room

12:45 - 1 pm Opening Remarks - Mike Trick

1 - 1:45 pm Persuasion under Second-Order Uncertainty
Author: Phillip C. Stocken

1:45 - 2:05 pm Break - Room 388

2:05 - 3:10 pm Emerging Scholars Presentations - Session 1

3:10 - 3:30 pm
Break - Room 388

3:30 - 4:30 pm Emerging Scholars Presentations - Session 2

4:30 - 4:45 pm
Break - Room 388

4:45 - 5:30 pm
Strategic Listening
Author: Paul Fischer

5:45 pm
Molley's Trolleys from the Tepper School of Business (upper corner Tech & Frew Streets) to the Wyndham

6:15 pm
6:45 pm
1st trip - Molley's Trolleys from the Wyndham to Church Brew Works
2nd trip - Molley's Trolleys from the Wyndham to Church Brew Works

6:45 - 9 pm
Cocktails and Dinner - Church Brew Works, 3525 Liberty Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15201

9:00 pm
9:30 pm
1st trip - Molley's Trolleys from Church Brew Works to the Wyndham
2nd trip - Molley's Trolleys from Church Brew Works to the Wyndham

8:30 am
Shuttle from Wyndham to Tepper School of Business

9 - 9:30 am Continental Breakfast - Room 388/Grand Room

9:30 - 10:15 am Regulation of Compensation
Author: Anya Kleymenova

10:15 - 10:45 am Break - Room 388

10:45 - 11:30 am Standing on the Shoulders of Giants: The Effect of Passive Investors on Activism
Author: Todd Gormley

11:30 - 11:45 am
Break - Room 388

11:45 - 12:30 pm Word-of-Mouth Communications and Firm Value
Author: Hao Xue

12:30 pm Lunch - Room 388/Grand Room

 2016 Conference Participants
Cyrus Aghamolla, University of Minnesota
Cagla Akin, Carnegie Mellon University
Jim Albertus, Carnegie Mellon University
Mark Bagnoli, Purdue University
Tim Baldenius, New York University
Sanjay Banerjee, University of Alberta
Jeremy Bertomeu, City University of New York
Mary Billings, New York University
Andrew Bird, Carnegie Mellon University
Alexander Bleck, University of British Columbia
Matthew Bloomfield, University Chicago
Jonathan Bonham, Rice University
Pablo Casas-Arce, Arizona State University
Judson Caskey, University of California, Los Angeles
Craig Chapman, Northwestern University
Edwige Cheynel, Columbia University
Jung Ho Choi, University Chicago
Carlos Corona, Carnegie Mellon University
Ming Deng, City University of New York
Yiwei Dou, New York University
Kai Du, Penn State University
Ron Dye   , Northwestern University
Alex Edwards, University of Toronto
Aytekin Ertan, London Business School
Qintao Fan, University of Oregon
Paul Fischer , University of Pennsylvania
Henry Friedman, University of California, Los Angeles
Todd Gormley , Washington University
Ilan Guttman, New York University
Mirko Heinle, University of Pennsylvania
Thomas Hemmer, Rice University
Moritz Hiemann, Columbia University
Nam Ho, Carnegie Mellon University
Danqi Hu, Northwestern University
Hyun Hwang, Carnegie Mellon University
Stephen Karolyi, Carnegie Mellon University
Eunhee Kim, Carnegie Mellon University
Michael Kirschenheiter, University of Illinois at Chicago
Anya Kleymenova , Univeristy of Chicago

Volker Laux, University of Texas at Austin
Kari Lee, Rutgers University
Chen Li, City University of New York
Wei Li, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Pierre Liang, Carnegie Mellon University
Yi Liang, Temple University
Guoyu Lin, Carnegie Mellon University
Radhika Lunawat, University of California, Irvine
Ivan Marinovic, Stanford University
Xiaojing Meng, New York University
Beatrice Michaeli, University of California, Los Angeles
Jeremy Michels, University of Pennsylvania
Lin Nan, Purdue University
Joseph Pacelli, Indiana University
Hong Qu, Penn State University
Ram Ramanan, Binghamton University
Thomas Ruchti, Carnegie Mellon University
Delphine Samuels, University of Pennsylvania
Bharat Sarath, Rutgers University
Ulrich Schäfer, University of Zurich
Timothy Shields, Chapman University
Sri Sridharan , Northwestern University
Jack Stecher, Carnegie Mellon University
Phillip Stocken , Dartmouth University
Robert Stoumbos, Yale University
Austin Sudbury, Carnegie Mellon University
Shyam Sunder, Yale University
Joyce Tian, University of Waterloo
Phong Truong, Carnegie Mellon University
Aluna Wang, Carnegie Mellon University
Susan Watts, Purdue University
Winnie Wen, Texas Christian University
Kelly Wu, Carnegie Mellon University
Jason Xue, Carnegie Mellon University
Hao Xue , New York University
Minlei Ye, University of Toronto
Yun Zhang, George Washington University
Wuyang Zhao, University of Toronto
Ronghuo Zheng, University of Texas, McComb