Community News

Outstanding Students and Alumni Recognized at the Tepper School Student Welcome and Awards Program

Several Tepper School of Business alumni and students were honored at the annual Welcome and Awards reception, held at Pittsburgh’s Carnegie Music Hall on Sunday, August 24.

The alumni awards were established by the Tepper School Alumni Association Board in order to recognize excellence and celebrate exceptional accomplishments within the alumni community. This year’s alumni award recipients include:

 Daniel Jester, MBA ’09 

Jester was awarded the Tepper Recent Alumni Award for Exceptional Achievement or Service, recognizing either professional accomplishment and/or service to the Tepper School community by an individual who has graduated within the last 10 years. Jester is currently an Equity Research Analyst for Citigroup, Inc.


Marc A. Onetto, MSIA ’75

Onetto was awarded the Tepper Alumni Achievement Award. This award recognizes an individual’s accomplishments and leadership in his or her profession, which brings honor to the Tepper School of Business upholding the highest values and traditions of the school. Onetto is Principal at Leadership From the Mind and the Heart, LLC.


John E. McCue, MSIA ’87

McCue earned the Tepper Alumni Service Award, which acknowledges volunteer service to the Tepper School community and its alumni organizations, including active participation in alumni or university affairs; faithful and continued effort in maintaining class, chapter, interest group or other alumni organization or assistance in expanding the influence and prestige of the Tepper School and Carnegie Mellon University. McCue is currently serving as Vice Chairman and U.S. Energy and Resource Leader at Deloitte, LLP.


Along with the alumni awards, several current MBA candidates were recognized for their achievements. Student honorees include:

Amanda Olar, MBA ’15

Olar was awarded the McGowan Fellowship Award. The McGowan Fellows program was established in 2010 by the William G. McGowan Charitable Fund to create a select community of highly talented, emerging business leaders who are dedicated to ethical leadership, community building and show an interest in public service. 


Monique Hutcherson, MBA ’15

Hutcherson earned the Arjun V. Gokhale Spirit Award This award is distributed by an administrative staff committee to a returning 1st Year Full-Time or 2nd Year Part-Time student who demonstrates academic excellence, a zest for life, dedication to team work, and the ability to bring diverse people together.


Naveen Gupta, MBA ’14

Gupta was arwarded the Part-Time MBA Academic Achievement Award, awarded to the Part-Time MBA student with the highest grade point average at the end of the second academic year.


Tyler Deschamps, MBA ’15

Deschamps received the Henry Ford II Scholarship Award. Each year this award is presented to the Full-Time MBA student with the highest grade point average at the end of the first academic year.